Are you beach ready?

Summer is getting closer and closer by the minute and that means one thing: it’s almost time to get your beach wardrobe ready. Going shopping for summer holiday items can be really exciting and it’s something I usually tend to plan months before I go away, whether it be to somewhere hot and exotic like the Maldives, sunny Europe or the small beaches of the UK. Sadly this year I haven’t got anything planned, but it doesn’t mean I can’t plan anyway, does it?


My beach steals from the high street:

Monochrome ensembles look chic and stylish at the best of times, but especially on a break by the sea. A large majority of people tend to wear bright-hued outfits on holiday, but I tend to stick to muted, minimalistic tones in order to mix and dress up or down outfits.

Personally, I am obsessed with swimwear. Whenever I go on holiday I am known to pack double the amount of two-piece sets I need because I like to have a selection (extra, I know). I tend to buy simplistic items to begin with – a ‘base’ if you like – so I can easily mix and match, starting off with a well-fitted, flattering black set. I would then buy a variation of bold coloured and patterned sets to create different looks depending on my mood, look and event of the day. To finish off a beach or poolside look, a trusty straw beach bag is a must, alongside a straw hat to shelter your head from the sun – like this punny ‘Beach Please!’ slogan hat from online store Boohoo.

Eat, beach, sleep, repeat…

Towel | £15 H&MPlaysuit | £12 Boohoo | Bikini | £14 Top / £10 Bottoms Topshop | Sliders | £10 ASOS | Bag | £20 Dorothy Perkins | Hat | £10 Boohoo


Here are my top tips for packing for the beach:

  • Beach towel – I highly recommend a vibrant beach towel as it’s easy to lose sight of where you’re sitting and go into a state of sheer panic thinking that you’re family have left without you, or that your towels been stolen (or that might just be me…)
  • Flip flops or sliders – they’re the easiest to slip on and off, and most importantly, they are super comfortable. Sliders are very popular at the moment and come in various colours and styles
  • Beach bag – my go-to beach bag is always a straw tote. They’re made for the beach so can endure anything, and they fit everything but the kitchen sink – just what you need if you’re as indecisive as me!
  • Book or earphones – when sunbathing, it’s nice to keep yourself entertained with either a good book (if anyone has any recommendations, let me know in the comments) or earphones to listen to your favourite music to pass time with
  • Sunnies – sunglasses are an absolute must. I squint terribly in the sun, so I am constantly seen with a pair on my head. I usually buy a mix of approximately 5 to go with various outfits from cheaper high street stores, but nothing beats my Rayban’s
  • Sun hat – a hat is useful at preventing heat stroke. I don’t really suit hats, but on holiday I tend to buy floppy straw hats as they look stylish and shelter your head, neck and face from the sun
  • Sun cream – this is very important as the last thing you want is to get burnt – it’s uncomfortable and ruins your holiday, so make sure your skin is protected. I tend to use Nivea or P20

Are you heading anywhere nice this summer?

With love,

Victoria

x

7 thoughts on “Are you beach ready?

Leave a Reply

